NYOH Community Cancer Foundation

Courage and Cancer: An Evening of Stories

Join us for an evening of hope, community, and inspiration, as cancer survivors share their personal stories live and on stage.  Our selected storytellers will take the stage, guided by Emily Rubin, a published author, writing instructor, and breast cancer survivor.  This event is open to the public.  ASL access is available.

This event occurred on May 23, 2024.  Check back for details for 2025!

Event Program
Event Photos

Meet Our 2024 Storytellers

Click on the name of each storyteller to watch their story.

Howard Hanna
Kate Hockford
Larry Lagace
Antoinette Lawson
Deanna Wicklund

Program Details
Thursday, May 23, 2024
5:30-6:30 PM: Appetizers catered by Jackson Soul Catering, cash bar, and raffle prizes
6:30-8:00 PM: Storytelling program

Other Event Details
Photography by Fullness of Joy Photography
Video Recording by One Studio, LLC
ASL interpretation provided by Kelly Decker and Karen Garofallou
For ASL access requests, contact: hello@nyohfoundation.org

Venue Info
The Cohoes Music Hall
58 Remsen St | Cohoes, NY 12047
For directions and parking info, visit: The Cohoes Music Hall

Ticket Information
General admission: $60/ticket
Purchase tickets through the Cohoes Music Hall online or call their box office at: (518) 434-0776

Johanne Morne, Executive Deputy Commissioner, NYS Department of Health | Mistress of Ceremonies
Stacy Fischer-Rosenthal and Richard Rosenthal | 2024 Courage & Cancer: An Evening of Stories honorees

Thank You to Our Event Sponsors

Novelist Level

Playwright Level

in memory of Craig Duncan

in honor of Patrick Henry

Storyteller Level

Elk Street Group
EMCO Construction
Jackie Gorski, in memory of “Big Al”
Hannoush Jewelers
Mirati Therapeutics
Dr. Anthony and Mrs. Deborah Monticello, in memory of Renée Fotouhi

Narrator Level

Albany Med Health System
Amazing Grace Transportation, in memory of Felix O. Amasha
Capital Security
The Cooley Group
Duncan & Cahill, in memory of Susan Christian
Dr. Arsyl and Jonathan De Jesus
GTM Payroll
Impact Athletic Center, in memory of Toni Lyng
Merrill Lynch Wealth Management, Franke Stento Mohan Group
Repeat Business Systems

An additional thank you to: Albany Times Union, Harney & Sons Fine Teas, Honest Weight Food Co-op, Orange Theory Fitness, Price Chopper/Market 32, Ready Mix Design + Letterpress, Send Me Waffles, Stretch Zone, Teal Becker and Chiaramonte, Upton Coffee Company, and Wolf Hollow Brewing Company

Thank You to Our Honorary Event Committee

Nischala Ammannagari and Satish Kodali
Eileen Howe Bird, in memory of Helen Phelan Howe
Sue Bradley, in memory of Cathy Connell
Danielle Brown
Jamie Brown, in honor of Larry Ward
Gabriela Cardona
Gordon Christian
Dr. Rufus Collea
Darci and David Emerich
Dr. Makenzi Evangelist and Jason Hughes, in memory of Richard “Ernie” Evangelist
Assemblymember Patricia Fahy, in memory of Brendan Fahy Bequette
Cindy Ferrari and Bryan Thomas, in memory of Kathleen Schrempf Kane
Frances Ford and Matthew Cirincione, in memory of Mary Ellen Ford
Mary Frances and Donald Ford, in memory of Mary Ellen Ford
Julie-Ann Fortran and James Drislane, in kind and loving memory of Rod Fortran
Janet E. Gargiulo
Ellen and Matt Gokey, in honor of George Martin
Michelle Golonka, in honor of Chris Greklek
Laurie Gorman
Joanna and Alex Hamilton, in honor of all those touched by cancer, their caregivers, and care teams
Kathleen Hockford
Larry and Candy Lagace, in memory of Bart Murray
Dr. Adriana Lisinschi
Sheri and Kevin Lyons, in memory of Donna Wingate and Dr. Fred Shapiro and in honor of Jill Walsh
John T. McDonald III

Paul and Sabrina Mosseau, in honor of Howard Hanna
Michelle Ostrelich and Howard Schlossberg
Marc Pellegrino, in honor of Dr. David Shaffer
Albert Poirier
Lisa Proskin* and Jonathan Pierce
Dr. Mihir and Mrs. Mariah Raval, in honor of NYOH patients
Molly Renaud
Joni Richter
Rachel Hye Youn Rupright and Alexander Monticello, in honor of Dr. Jamie Flerlage
Dr. David Shaffer* and Laney Gahagan, in honor of Louise Houston Shaffer
Elliot Sobel and Beth Gordon, in honor of Dr. Nancy Lee and Dr. Lara Dunn of Memorial Sloan Kettering
Jake and Mindy Stookey
Patricia Stott, ANP, in memory of Carolyn Samuels
Dr. Karen Tedesco and Dr. John DeFrancisco
Jason and Alecia Thompson
Congressman Paul D. Tonko, in memory of Frances Tonko “Miss Frances”
Dawn Vyvial
Jill* and Michael Walsh, in honor of Dr. Dudek and the staff at the NYOH Patroon Creek Office
Shannon Walsh
Christine Webber and Tobey Fischer, in honor of those who live with cancer
Susan Winchell and Steve Rosenzweig, in memory of Edward C. Winchell
Terry and Doug Wingate, in honor of Jill Walsh and in memory of Donna Wingate
Dr. Mohamad and Mrs. Hana Younes

NYOH Community Cancer Foundation Board of Directors*

View our 2024 sponsorship benefits:


Event Committee and
Story Submission Review Committee

Frances Ford      Molly Renaud
Jackie Gorski      Emily Rubin
Patti Hensel      Eliot Sobel
Dawn Vyvial

Couldn’t attend, but still want to make a difference? Make a donation today: